I know summer reading is seen as something of a threat to students yearning for a summer’s respite. Personally, I adore reading in the summer (though I also love reading in the spring, fall, and winter, so I think its a year round affliction more than seasonal.) Our local public library does a summer reading program– one for kids, one for teens, and even one for adults! I do love a good reading challenge.

What is everyone planning to read this summer? My ‘to be read’ list is long, and probably always will be, but I have a few things that look to be good reading in the short term. I’m currently reading Whose Body, the first Lord Peter Whimsy mystery by Dorothy Sayers. I’m enjoying it so far, though I’m coming off a binge through Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher mysteries (at least the ones the public library had), and those move a touch quicker.

Beyond that? I’ve had Kristen Lavensdatter staring at me since the spring and I think I’m finally ready to read. I also have Hannah Arendt’s Eichmann in Jerusalem waiting. In the lighter, quicker reads department I have books a plenty: Nina George’s The Little French Bistro, Gabrielle Zevin’s The Storied Life of AJ Fickery, Annie Burrows and Marie Schaffer’s The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, and Jennifer Ryan’s The Chilbury’s Ladies Choir. I also have a slew of books on housekeeping, homemaking, and hygge that I’m reading on the side.

What do you have lined up for the summer? Are you participating in summer reading program or going it alone?

Leave a Reply

